SPREADING MYSELF TOO THIN

I want to be good at everything all at once and I think it’s why I’m failing at everything. I think I have 5 different things I’m trying to do at the moment and I’m not giving enough time or energy to any of them. I like to think I’m a pro at multitasking but multitasking doesn’t work when it comes to big tasks. I learned that in psych once but then again psych was my worst subject in VCE so it’s no surprise that I didn’t remember that.

I think it’s because I run on impulses too much. One day I think I want to be a YouTuber the next, I want to be a writer and I’m not saying it’s impossible to be both at the same time. I’m just saying I think I need to focus and work hard at one of these aspirations until I’m fairly good at it then start focusing and working hard on the next thing.

I believe that we can be anything we want to be and this belief serves as my inspiration and the cause of my downfall. We can be anything we want to be, yes, but not all at the same time.

We only have so much time in a day. I have a list on my wall of four things that I want to care about and cultivate this year and I’ve realised that even four may be too much. I’m trying to excel at so many things but in doing just that I’m preventing myself from it. This is what I’ve found out about myself anyway. I’m sure there are heaps of people out there who are excellent at improving different skills at the same time. I don’t think I’m one of them.

Leave a Reply

